Sie Doe, Jr. Named Finalist for Cliff Harris Award

FHSU Sports Information Department

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Wright, Lindsey & Jennings LLP announced the finalists for the fourth annual Cliff Harris Award on Friday (Dec. 16). Fort Hays State senior defensive lineman Sie Doe, Jr. has been named a finalist for the award.

This award is presented to the nation’s top small college defensive player representing almost 500 colleges and universities from NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA colleges. A prestigious selection committee made up of former college and pro football greats will select the winner. In addition to the CLIFF HARRIS AWARD overall winner, the top vote getter from each division will also be announced. The Cliff Harris Award winner will be announced on Dec. 24 and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet on January 19, 2017, featuring guest speaker Archie Manning. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy presented by Cliff Harris. The inaugural winner of the award in 2013 was Lindenwood University cornerback Pierre Desir, now with the Cleveland Browns. The 2014 winner was Darius Allen of Colorado State University-Pueblo and the 2015 winner was Marqui Christian of Midwestern State University.
Recently, Doe was named to the All-America First Team by the AFCA and D2CCA. He also garnered D2CCA Super Region 3 Defensive Player of the Year and MIAA Defensive Player of the Year honors. He was one of four finalists for the D2CCA National Defensive Player of the Year.

Doe had 15 sacks and 19.5 tackles for loss, but made 26 more tackles than Baar with 81 for the season. Doe tied for second nationally in forced fumbles with five for the season, while Baar had two. The 15 sacks for Doe set a new single-season school record, while he tied the FHSU career record of 21.5 also held by Trevell Smittick (1997-99). Over two years at FHSU, Doe amassed 151 tackles, 34.5 tackles for loss, 21.5 sacks, and eight forced fumbles. He was an All-MIAA selection both years.

Sound Off!