TMN Radio New Artist: Faithless Town

Faithless Town albumTMN STAFF

Faithless Town formed in 2008 in Atlanta, GA, the band has consisted of several line-ups drawn from the Atlanta indie music scene. The current line-up consists of Gene Owens (lead vocals, guitar), Matthew Smith (guitar, backing vocals), Geoff Goodwin (keyboards), Tyler Sant (bass guitar), and husband and wife Padrick (drums) and Kristine Handley (backing vocals, percussion).

After a Kickstarter campaign, they released their first full-length album in 2012, American Refugee.

Branching out from their Americana Rock roots, Faithless Town’s new record, Empires, is an eclectic album ranging in music styles as diverse as 80’s Pop and New Wave to Folk and Grunge. A vast theme of imperialism pervades the album in multiple senses. In one sense, the literal meaning of a relationship between a powerful state or society versus a less powerful one and, in other more, more personal sense, it refers to the “empires” within us and the psychological fragments and emotions that can rule our thoughts and the internal struggles we have with them.

The album’s lead single “Waste Away” draws inspiration from The Smiths and David Bowie, creating a shoegaze rock anthem unlike the singer/songwriter has created before. Light and airy guitar riffs lay a thick base of churning reverb throughout the track while Owens’ warm, full-bodied vocals packed full of romantically melancholic sentiments fall softly atop like snowflakes.

Empires will be released on June 2nd, 2016 on various digital formats via a self-release.

Sound Off!